This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Handheld GPS Devices

therock003 0 Points
Hi i'm a Land Surveyor, just starting my profession. I have been informed that GPS devices can be usefull for locating certain Areas and i intend to purchase one.

My question is, should i get something professional or can i even use the garmin nuvi i have for my car route planning purposes?

I mean is there any specific reason i should go for e-trex and magellan?

Comments

• Tim 1482 Points
    Can you be more specific about how you will use the GPS? From your description it is a little bit difficult to tell which functions you may or may not need.
  • Well my question is mostly, what do handheld GPS units have to offer in comparison to the in-CAR GPS?

Sorry i can't make it any more precise.

These are some units i'm looking into but i dont know why they are more expensive and if they're different with end-user consumer products

http://www.civilshop.gr/?productn=gps

Do they provide better accuracy or something?
  • Well my question is mostly, what do handheld GPS units have to offer in comparison to the in-CAR GPS?
    Durability/weather/water resistance and battery life for starters. Most handhelds use AA batteries, which are available everywhere. And many have 15-20+ hours of battery life. I just ordered a handheld that will give me photo realistic satellite and aerial imagery overlaid on topographic maps. For $30/year, you can constantly download anything you want and it's yours to keep forever. I ordered the Delorme PN-40 and can't wait to get it! I imagine it would be invaluable to you in your field of work. Personally, I'd get a separate dedicated GPS for car/road navigation and another for "in the field" navigation.
  • Thanx for your reply, now please allow me to make some aditional and more specific questions.