This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Why does the Nuvi keep trying to take me on back roads?

Comments

• cuc tu 91 Points
    What in Garmin's algorithm could possibly cause the device to pick a longer/slower route when it knows (or should know) that a shorter/faster route exists.

ahhhh... but that is just it. :) I'll have an article on this sometime. But the GPS does not test all combinations of route possibilities. (Any GPS.) It can't. There are too many possible combinations.
    That is hard for me to buy. The processing power of my GPS is on par with my fastest PC of 10 years ago.

I can't believe that a simple two dimentional analysis could be so complex. This is where I tought my ignorant, "if I was a programmer" speal about it is so simple to take every route, multiply speed x distance, and get a number, then pick the lowest, and there you go...well, I can see the complications in that "every route" part, but I can also see ways to significantly limit those complications.

Anyway, I still see that a clear definition of the problem is required.
  • Tim 1480 Points
    well, I can see the complications in that "every route" part, but I can also see ways to significantly limit those complications.
    Sure-- and that is why what I described (forcing a route that even the device thinks is faster than what it initially picked) is rare.

Consumers demand fast routing times and fast re-routing times. One of the easiest ways for developers to achieve this is to reduce the amount of fringe cases that are checked that rarely find a faster route.