This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Standard GPS or iphone GPS

gobux 0 Points
edited November -1 in Smartphone Navigation
Hello,

I am new to the GPS world and am ready to buy my first GPS for the car. I can’t decide whether to buy a dedicated GPS or buy an iphone and use their GPS apps such as the Navigon app.

I want to consider costs too. If I buy a dedicated GPS, my budget is under $200, and from what I have read, I should be able to find one where I don’t pay annual fees. Not sure if this is the case for the iphone.

I appreciate any recommendation to help me make a decision!

Comments

• patruns 10 Points
    If you buy an iphone app, you probably already have a data plan so data costs should not be an issue. That puts you one step ahead of others with smartphones. Is it better? Not sure at this point. Personally, I prefer a larger screen than you see on the dedicated GPS units. But, to some the iphone screen is large enough. The other thought is, will you be able to get updated maps or additional maps for the iphone app for free or cheaper than for a dedicated unit? I'm not sure how far along the smartphone apps are yet in that regard. Does AT&T charge an additional monthly fee for using the navigation software? That's another thing you need to find out to make an informed decision.

I have a smartphone with GPS now and a GPS unit. At this time, I prefer the GPS for anything other than pedestrian mode.
  • Tim 1481 Points
    We have reviews of both AT&T Navigator for iPhone as well as Navigon Mobile Navigator for iPhone. The AT&T app includes "free" map updates, the live traffic service, and navigation for $9.99 per month. The Navigon app is a one time charge-- $69 now but going up to $99 in a couple of weeks. Map update costs haven't yet been disclosed for that package.