city navigator vs. citiXplorer

gherlanezu 0 Points
edited November -1 in GPS Discussions
Greetings,
I am new with GPS devices, ready to purchase the Garmin Oregon 300 and I was wondering if City navigator North America has the same level of details and for instance support pedestrian navigation on the same level of details as the cityXplorer.

I probably would not need the entire North American maps for the near future, and if the cityXplorer is more detailed, I would get the metropolitan area I am interested for now (Portland OR in my case)

Thank you.
Dan

Comments

• Unless you have a Gamin device that offers enhanced pedestrian navigation like the 1300/1400 series nuvis, there's no added benefit from CityExplorer maps. Of course if you don't need the entire US mapped and only interested in specific cities, they are a lot cheaper than purchasing the CNNT NA map. You don't lose any detail between one and the other afaik.
  • thank you - in ths case I will probably go with the city navigator then if there is no added detail in the CityExplorer, as in the next year, I may need at least 4-5 other metro areas, so might as well get the entire continent.

Should I understand the Oregon series do not have pedestrian navigation as well? I thought there is a so called recreational mode that works as a pedestrian type profile (where say one way streets are not restricted, freeways are not suggested, etc)
  • Boyd 1332 Points
    I have an Oregon but have never used the CityXplorer or City Navigator maps on it. However, as I understand, only the Nuvi 1200/1300/1400 support CityXplorer special features (routing via mass transit, etc).

I don't know about avoiding one way streets - we have a thread in the Nuvi forum where someone complains about pedestrian mode on the older Nuvi's avoiding one way streets. Personally I never understood what actually happens when you select "pedestrian" on the older Nuvis.