The 'Mark Viewed' options have been temporarily disabled due to a performance issue.

Buy standalone GPS or USB GPS & software for laptop?

Hello Forum;

I am new to this forum and have enjoyed reading a number of the postings. I have no current GPS experience, but had a Garmin 210 in my powerboat that worked perfectly for years.

I am trying to decide whether to purchase a Garmin Nuvi model in the $200 price range, or purchase a USB GPS for my Windows Vista laptop and download map software from the internet for about the same dollar value all in.

I have about 20 years hands-on computer experience having written application software and having built my own desktop computers for the last 15 years, so installing and configuring the laptop/internet software is not a major issue for me.

The navigation system will be hard wired into my Class A motor home, and based out of Vancouver Canada, we plan to travel continental North America including Mexico, and will need a map package that covers the whole area.

I am concerned about overall quality, reliability and useability of the navigation system once installed and debugged. Have many others chosen the USB GPS/Laptop combination and regretted the decision only to purchase a standalone unit as a replacement?

I would appreciate any advice or input whatsoever...

Thanks in advance!

JT

Comments

• Micro$oft Autoroute comes with a GPS option, I'd give that a look.
  • Boyd 1271 Points
    MS Streets and Trips also includes the Navation USB GPS. I picked up the software and hardware together for around $70 awhile ago. Not terribly impressed with the software personally, but I use the USB GPS with some other applications on my netbook. This receiver isn't terribly sensitive due to the small size (I guess). It includes a USB extension cord, and it works OK when I set it on my dashboard, but not very well when just plugged into the netbook directly.

http://www.navationtech.com/product/gpsLocator.htm