This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Chineese GPS questions

geek99 0 Points
Hi,

I am a GPS newbie so please bear with me if this is not the correct forum or if this information exists in some place. I am looking at buying a chineese GPS PND and have the following questions. I appreciate if some one can clarify.

1) Is there a plug n play TMC receiver that I can buy and receive traffic updates for that PND?
2) Do I need a Hardware receiver to get connected services like gas prices etc with out subscription services? or Can that information be downloaded in to the PND by connecting it to internet through your home computer?
3) What about speedcam and other alerts? Is that just a POI that can be pre-loaded?
4) It comes with Igo8 i think. Is that a good nav software?
5) Can i install other software and use them if needed?
6) Any suggestions on basic specifications that I should have in the PND?

Thanks
G.

Comments

• patruns 10 Points
    Before you even consider such a purchase, are you actually in China or is this just because it is cheaper? Many of these made in China units, especially using iGO software, are using pirated versions of the software and you will get absolutely no help from iGO or the manufacturer when problems arise.
  • geek99 0 Points
    I am in US and my reason for considering it is the very good hardware configuration it appears to come with and the ability to modify the software if I want to play with it. Are there any other recommendations for about $100 budget?

The one I was looking has a 5'' 128mb ram, 4GB installed drive, Sirf Atlas IV with 500MHz CPU.

Appreciate your comments.
  • philgood 0 Points
    Live traffic comes in different types of implementation and integration, I think you can only install vanilla GPS software (e.g. iGo, Garmin ot TomTom) on those Windows CE unit.
  • patruns 10 Points