This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Just purchased a used one. Is it Garbage?

JMorrison914 0 Points
edited November -1 in TomTom Car Forum
I just purchased a used TOMTOM One 3rd edition. I got it from a friend he upgraded and I needed one, nice. Soo I know nothing about GPS devices (I'm a rookie) Well I'm tooling around with this thing and hell, it is very slow on the response when I touch the screen, or when I pretty much do anything rather. Also I can't even get the thing to find the Caravelle Resorts in Myrtle Beach. Did I just waste my money? Or does it need some kind of reboot or something to give it a "cough to clear its lungs" kinda clean to work faster? /

Comments

• dhn 336 Points
    Tap the satellite bars on the unit and the next screen shows the application version number. Tap the version number and the following screen shows the map installed and its version number.

Can you report back the map and version number, please? The current map is 865.
  • It says v825 :(
  • dhn 336 Points
    Well, that map is about 2 years old and may explain why roads aren't accurate.
  • Nice. So now what dhn? Download TOMTOMHome and upgrade the map?
  • dhn 336 Points
    That's your choice. If you go here:
    http://www.routes.tomtom.com/#/map/?center=63.735,-96.294999999999&zoom=1&map=basic

and go hunting for some streets missing from your current map, you'll get an idea if they are in the 865 map.

If so, then indeed you may wish to purchase an updated map for your unit.
  • mdng 0 Points
    Keep in mind, this is the budget model, so there's not a whole lotta memory in it, thus there is a limit as to how many POIs (point of interests) come up when you do a search. Also, see how much the map update will cost you, you may be off buying a newer refurbirshed model. I'd just use it as is until it dies.