Nuvi 1300 compatible GPS Tracking Program. Need Suggestions.

I am looking for a program that I can install on my Windows based PC (Laptop) that would allow me to plug in my Nuvi 1300 and save my route. Basically, I have a lake master chip installed in my Garmin and this would allow me to save my route on the lake when trolling and never lose it. Since the Nuvi 1300 only allows one waypoint on a route this is my alternative, if there is such a thing. Please let me know. Thanks!

Comments

• t923347 208 Points
    If I understand you correctly you have a program/chip that will create your route/track and your looking for a way to take that created route/track and save it to your computer.

Is the Lake Master chip saving the data somewhere on the Nuvi? If so is it a .gpx file that's being created or what type of file do you have, if any.

If you have a .gpx file then there are many programs that could help you, including the free BaseCamp software from Garmin, but we may need to more fully understand what type of data is being saved and what type of output is being created.
  • Boyd 1332 Points
    edited August 2011
    There is no such thing. It doesn't matter what computer program you use, your Nuvi has two basic limitations that prevent you from doing this.

First, the 1300 series cannot utilize routes created on your computer. Doesn't matter what software you use, it just can't do it.

Second, it is not possible to load a track onto your Nuvi. In fact *none* of the Nuvi's allow you to load a track. They record tracks and you can copy them to your computer, but not the other way around.

You really might want to consider a "real" handheld gps instead, as they will give you both route and track import capabilities. And as a bonus, they will also be waterproof. :)
  • Boyd 1332 Points
    Rick, Lakemaster is just a map. By "chip" I think he means that he purchased it on an SD card.

https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?cID=254&pID=1113
  • t923347 208 Points