This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Which GPS for aid with Property Lines?

blottobag 0 Points
edited November -1 in GPS Recommendations
Hello,

Im new to most things GPS. Im trying to find a GPS that will work under fairly dense tree cover, and will allow me to set waypoints on top of property pins/markers, then allow me to connect the dots so to speak. For instance: I would like to set a point on a pin in the center of the road, walk back to the back pin, and shoot a straight line between them. I realize it will only be accurate to around 10 meters give or take, but I cut timber, and just want to be sure to stay off the neighbors at the location.

Can anyone recommend a decent unit (low cost is preferable) that can do what im asking?

Thanks in advance,

Brandon Johnson
Southern Indiana.

Comments

• Boyd 1985 Points
    You are correct about the accuracy issue, so it's good that you don't expect too much. Beyond that, I don't think you will see a lot of difference in the realtime response of most modern units on the market today.

I've experimented with this a lot myself, and readings can vary a significantly from day to day. You will probably want to stick with Garmin as the pretty much own the handheld market with the largest selection of models.

Is $200 in your budget range? The Oregon 450 is currently on sale for $250 at REI through September 6, with a $50 rebate from Garmin. This is an exceptional deal IMO, much cheaper than this model has ever been. If you are looking for realtime tracking performance, I think it may be close to as good as it gets.

See this: http://forums.gpsreview.net/discussion/19442/x/p1/. THe 450 is the updated version of the unit I used in this thread, with a better screen and compass but the same chips.