Pick Montana 650 or 650T?

I am having sticker shock on the Montana,but I am ready to order one. I read posts about the Montana, and I think garmin has worked out the bugs. If it is toublesome to use it please let me know. I wanted turn key operation.
I saw some camera shots from other hikers and they were pretty nice. I liked the idea of not carrying a camera, so it makes the larger GPS size palatable. Anyway I have topo 2008 disk for my HCX Vista and I wanted to know if that was good enough to skip the 650T model. I looked at the free maps and I don't know if they cover Pennsylvania in detail, or better detail that the topo 2008. I am a novice and while it may be described I lack the vocabulary to make a decision. I appreciate your help. Thanks.

I also wanted to know a value on a used Vista HCX and a good place to sell it. I think it would just sit around if I get a new Montana.

Comments

• Welcome!

I have Garmin Oregon 300,450,550t, and just last week a new Montana 650!

While I am intimately familiar with the Oregons and their limits, I am finding a new learning curve with all the new functionality that comes with the Montana.

The Montana is not yet "Turn Key", but it is a nice unit with great potential. I just sent a bug report to garmin with six problems I have found in the first week of use. As with the Oregons when they were first released, Garmin is releasing very regular firmware updates with bug fixes and functionality improvements for the Montana. You should expect some level of "Beta" testing and errors over the next six to twelve months with this brand new unit, minimum. The Oregons, however, have just finally become very reliable with very few bugs with the latest firmware version 5.20.

If you must have the refinement now, I would suggest the Oregon 550, but if you can handle a few bumps along the way, you might be happier with the Montana 650 in the long run.