This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Audible Speed Alerts on GPS

qman 0 Points
edited November -1 in GPS Recommendations
I am looking for a GPS to help me control my speeding. I try not to speed too much, but I have a bit of a lead foot. I have heard there are GPSs out there that will make an audible warning after you are so many miles over the speed limit. I am a field tech so I am driving all the time often in places I am not familiar with and don't always catch the speed limits.

My primary features I am looking for is the audible speed warning and I would prefer a 5" screen. Can anybody make any recommendations?

Comments

• alanb 539 Points
    I don't think any of the Garmin nuvi's do this. Many of the newer models give a visual alert (changing the color of the displayed speed to red) when you are over the speed limit. However, there is no audio alert and you can't set a threshold. Also, the visual alert only works when the map data contains speed limit information for the road you are driving on. Most major highways and many streets in the US have speed limit data, but not all of them.
  • dhn 336 Points
    A current tomtom with a 5" screen is the 1535 which gives a visual warning when going faster than allowed BUT will also give an audio warning when going faster than a user provided mph value.
  • qman 0 Points
    Thanks for the advice... That did end up getting the Tom Tom Via 1535 and it works great. The screen is easy to see and I have it set to audibly warn me if I go too fast. The speed indicator turns red once I go over and it starts making audible alerts at 5mph over. I also have it set to alert me as I am approaching school zones. It has everything I was looking for.