Creating Routes with Nuvi Trip Planner

I am wondering if I am using Garmin’s Trip Planner correctly. I am brand new to a Nuvi 3590, and understand that its Trip Planner has been the Nuvi standard for about three years. However, I have been used to the 855, and have been very satisfied with its “Create Routes” function…and want to continue my own route customization on the Nuvi.

I intend to use Trip Planner primarily for multi-stop TRIP routing: 500 or so miles per day, with multi stops at various National Parks or sights, and I like to choose my own specific highways. I realize that Garmin’s Base Camp is now the default choice by many users, to customize their routes and import to the Nuvi.

However, I strongly prefer to create my own routes directly on the Nuvi. I have practiced the past week creating six days of routes on the 3590, and find that I can do so much like I experienced on the 855, although it is FAR easier to scroll the map than before. To me, a further advantage of programming the Nuvi is that with experience, I will ALWAYS be able to independently create ANY route by myself, especially when the need occurs away from home…and I don’t have a computer with me.

I use the following method, but want suggestions for doing it more efficiently on the Nuvi: I search for all of our overnight motels, either by Name or Create Address for each one, and enter them into SAVED. I Start each day’s route with the motel we start from, and choose the next night as the End Point (having chosen each from “Saved.” I then Edit each route by adding new interim points, by “Browse Map,” and carefully place my finger on any roads needed to vary from the default route that the Nuvi has created: I add stops, or change to alternate highways.