This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

The cheapest GPS to perform 3 needs

RossK 0 Points
edited November -1 in GPS Recommendations
Hi,
I've never used a GPS before, but I'm looking for the cheapest option that will serve 3 diverse functions (but it may be cheaper for me to get separate devices)
The things I've been looking at are:
1. Garmin Mapping handheld GPS like Montana, Oregen, Etrex
2. Garmin's Rino GPS with two-way radio.
3. Garmin's UK road satnav, and adding on U.S. 1:24,000 Topo maps
4. De Lorme Earthmate Pn60-W with inReach
5. Spot satellite GPS Messenger which I think is solely an emergency device.

What I want to be able to do is:
1. Hike specifically in fairly remote wilderness areas and canyons of Utah and Arizona without getting lost - but I will take with me a paper USGS map and compass
2. I also need a satnav to direct me while driving around the UK where I live if it's possible and cheaper to combine this on the same device.
3. And it would be nice in Utah/Arizona to have some device to alert people if I need help in an emergency.

Firstly, if I carry a detailed paper map when hiking, is either the Basemap or the North American Topo that comes with some of these enough, or do I still need to pay $129 for the detail of the USGS American SouthWest package of 7.5minute 1:24,000 maps. I presume with a GPS I put in my hiking destination and it tells me which direction to walk, so I don't need a really detailed map on it. Although that could be a problem if I'm not taking a direct route because of say a cliff/river, but then perhaps I could put waypoints into the GPS and it will point me to the next waypoint (but I'll need to know when I've reached it to change direction)? Or alternatively if the GPS constantly tells me my current exact position I will know where it is on my detailed paper map?