This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Finding POIs and Itineraries

bellyman69 0 Points
edited November -1 in TomTom Car Forum
I own a Dell Axim running a 7.x version of TomTom. I loved the ability to add new POIs and create my ITN files externally then move them over. It is dying though and I opted for a Garmin nuvi 2595.

After getting beyond a map update I started playing with the Garmin custom POI system - and boy, how inferior that is compared to the Dell.

I posted a message at POIFactory which summaries my pain - Garmin support merely acknowledged what I found out.
http://www.poi-factory.com/node/36612

The flaws? Garmin treats Custom POIs as "worst" class.
a) Using voice commands, save for "Saved" you can never search for a Custom POI.
b) There is a bug - they randomly appear at the front of your manual search (sometimes) but otherwise are culled at the very bottom (after you search though the stock POIs). ie they don't "cull" stock+custom and sort by closest.
c) To complicate things - two locations that have been in a place I was searching FOR YEARS aren't even in the Garmin list. So yeah, I am more or less forced to update with a custom list.
d) You are forced to really use their Custom POI category to find things. I am not going to say all hope is lost. You can 'manually' go to Custom POIs then "search all" and now all the Custom you loaded will be sorted based on closest to furthest. So essentially to save myself using TWO systems to check (first their stock; then the custom) I would probably need to clock a lot of hours loading it with a slew of POIs - every burger joint, gas station, rest stations etc etc. So far the BMP's don't appear on the GPS - yet something else to figure out. Worked fine on TomTom.

So then I am thinking maybe I should revisit getting an updated TomTom. But lo and behold that too is no utopia.