This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Placement in Car?

bravozulu 0 Points
edited November -1 in GPS Recommendations
I'm set on buying a DeLorme 60PN unit for my Toyota Camry. My experience with a Satellite radio educated me about the problems created when the antenna doesn't have a clear view of the sky.

a) is a dash-top or windshield mount the best solution?
b) is voice activation helpful? My friends are divided on this.
c) the built in car units I've seen (as a passenger) were far too large and somewhat distracting to a driver. The DeLorme has a screen smaller than the average Garmin. I was a pilot so I know how to glance at an instrument rather than stare at it. Is the DeLorme screen big enough to guide a person through city traffic?

Thanks,

Gary in Santa Monica

Comments

• Tim 1484 Points
    Two things.

1) The DeLorme PN-series devices can do street routing and navigation, but that isn't what they were primarily designed for. It will get you by in a pinch, but I wouldn't want to use it as a primary car GPS.

2) Satellite radio and GPS use very different technology for receiving signals. While they both use satellites, that is about where the similarities end. Satellite radio relies on often a single geostationary satellite while GPS relies on dozens of geosynchronous satellites.

So while your radio might be trying to get a signal from one satellite and blank out from time to time if the signal is blocked, GPS just requires a connection to just a few of the dozens of GPS satellites for it to work. Thus satellite radio will have many, many more moments of "silence" while the GPS continues working happily without interruption.
  • bravozulu 0 Points
    Thanks. Back to my questions.

So, placement of the unit isn't critical?
    And deLorme isn't good for car navigation?
    What about voice capability?
  • Boyd 2002 Points