This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

TomTom 740 Bad Reviews On Amazon

ejaggers 0 Points
edited November -1 in TomTom Car Forum
Hello All,
I'm new to the forum, and needs some advice before I buy. I've been looking at the TomTom Go Live 740, but many many amazon users gave it a low review, but many are old as 2009. They complained about customer service, rebooting, etc. I am a novice and would like to make a good choice so I would like to hear from more experienced users. I currently have a Garmin 265 that I've had no problem with.

o Have the 740's gotten better in 2012?
o Is CS still as bad now as the reviews say?
o Is this a product you'd recommend?

Comments

• dhn 336 Points
    That model is no longer available new from TomTom. See here for current choices:
    http://www.tomtom.com/en_us/products/car-navigation/

All newer models are such that the user no longer has access to the file system on the device. And it has resulted in quite a learning curve from those coming from an earlier TT device.
  • ejaggers 0 Points
    There's a site selling these today only, for $85 new. I understand that these are discontinued, but I don't under the following:

Quote: All newer models are such that the user no longer has access to the file system on the device.

What does this mean? And is the unit trouble as people on Amazon are saying, or is it a good unit? SOme of the Amazon posts were old. So did TT work the bugs out?
  • dhn 336 Points
    That device appears as a removable drive on your computer. You can access all files and folders using Explorer or Finder, if a Mac.

The newer models don't allow user access to the file system. They appear as network connections, not removable drives.

All reviews for any product tend to have more negatives than positives. That said, no product, including gps units and including a TT 740 is perfect.