This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

TN765 unresponsive, think my battery might be dead

Chuck14 30 Points
edited November -1 in Motorola MotoNav
I've been using my 765 for a couple of years now with no major issues. It started acting weird a couple of days ago, not turning on automatically when I turn the car on, randomly reset itself while driving around a couple of times. Last night it just turned off for no apparent reason and wouldn't come back on.

I thought maybe it was a problem with the car charger/cradle, so I brought it inside with me last night and plugged one of my phone chargers into the USB connector, left it sitting on my desk overnight. This morning I noticed that the power light (next to the sliding power button) is still yellow. I expected the battery would have charged overnight and the light would be green.

Tried turning it on and I get nothing. Tried with the USB plugged in and without. Tried unplugging and plugging the USB back in a couple of times, no change. I have noticed that if I look closely at the power light, it seems to be flickering. When I press the power button towards the side where it should turn on, it sometimes seems to turn orange or red. Once in a while the boot screen flashes on for just a fraction of a second and then the screen goes dark again.

I do have one of the custom skins on it fro this forum, but I put that on months ago so I don't think it's related. Haven't done any sort of software or map upgrade in ages, since I bought it, so I doubt it's a software issue of any kind. Doesn't look like it's even getting far enough to load anything anyway.

Anybody had similar behavior? Does this sound like a dead battery or a fried unit?

Thanks,
Chuck

Comments

• moondog151 41 Points