The 'Mark Viewed' options have been temporarily disabled due to a performance issue.

New user of Nuvi2595lmt need help with maps

Ann 0 Points
Hi. please can anyone tell me if there is enough room on my Nuvi2595lmt to install a North America map and still leave my pre installed Europe maps on it. I'm new to Garmin Sat Navs and just about o.k with computers so would me gratefull for any advise. Thanks

Comments

• sussamb 163 Points
    Room isn't going to be an issue as you can always pop the maps onto a sd card. What you really need to decide is what format you want to choose.

Is this a one off trip? If so you might want to consider buying the maps pre-installed on a SD card, that way when the trip is over you can sell the card and recoup some of the cost. From Garmins FAQs:

Question : Should I purchase mapping for my GPS on a disc, pre-programmed datacard, or as downloadable content?

Response :
    Mapping for Garmin GPS devices is sold in a variety of formats. It may be purchased on a disc, as a pre-programmed datacard, and some maps can be downloaded directly from the Garmin website. Please see below for the benefits of each format.

DVD/CD: Maps purchased in this format will require a computer to use but they will allow you to plan trips on your computer and transfer waypoints, routes and tracks to your GPS device1. The installation process will install the mapping and the MapSource or BaseCamp application to your computer. MapSource or BaseCamp can then be used to send maps to either your device or a blank datacard since most devices will not hold all of the data on the device. Please note that most mapping products in this format are unlocked to a single device and they are non-transferable. City Navigator maps in this format can be updated by purchasing a map update, when available.