This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Creating a route with a "via"

I'm new to Garmin; I come from the world of TomTom.
With the latter, it was clear how to create a route when one wished to go via a location - a town, for example.

I don't see how to do this with my 3590 Nuvi.
I wish to go to town A, but via town B - and create a route for that trip.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Tim 1480 Points
    edited July 2012
    Typically you would just go through the menus as if you were creating a new route to a different destination. When you set a destination and a route (somewhere else) has already been created it will ask if you want it to be a new destination (clearing the original route) or a via point in the existing route.
  • Ramaprem 112 Points
    Thanks for the reply, Tim.

"It might be helpful to know which model you are working with..."
    As stated above: 3590 Nuvi. The LMT.

So I understand that it is simply impossible to do what I wish: to create one route via some location. True?

I'm finding something else lacking in Garmin - if I am correct.
    I wish to create a route simply to a "city center" (a post-code) - without giving a street.
    Is this also not possible?
  • sussamb 813 Points
    edited July 2012
    Both are possible:

Try Where to>Categories>Cities for the latter or you can simply enter a postcode (I guess you're in the UK) without a number or anything else. See page 12 of the manual:

http://static.garmincdn.com/pumac/nuvi_3500_OM_EN.pdf

Routes and vias ... see page 22 :)
  • Tim 1480 Points
    So I understand that it is simply impossible to do what I wish: to create one route via some location. True?
    No, not true, see my example/instructions above.
  • t923347 432 Points