This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

GPS and geocaching

sleepnsurf 0 Points
edited November -1 in GPS Discussions
I have recently picked up geocaching and am thinking I should get a good GPS to go with the sport. I have been using my Android which comes with Google maps and GPS till date but am keen on something more professional. Any ideas?

Comments

• alanb 533 Points
    I am new to geocaching too. I have been geocaching off and on since April of this year. After doing some online research, I picked the Garmin Oregon 550 and it works very well for me. In my opinion, having a unit with an electronic compass is a "must have" for geocaching. With most of the cheaper handhelds, the compass only works when you are moving, but with the electronic compass on the Oregon, it works when you are standing still and that helps point you in the right direction when you are searching for the cache. I also like the camera for recording the geocache finds ... one less thing to carry along. The paperless caching functions work very well (loading pocket queries, recording and uploading the field notes, marking waypoints and entering new waypoints as you work through multi-stage caches, etc.). I use the free Open Street Maps USA for street reference and occasionally for automobile navigation to a cache parking area. I subscribed to Garmin's Birds Eye satellite imagery and like using that overlay for caching on trails and in parks.

My son-in-law caches with me sometimes, and he uses a geocaching app on his Android smart phone (not sure which phone or app). That really works pretty well, except for not having the compass. So he usually relies on me to point us in the right direction with my Oregon.
  • sussamb 792 Points