This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Need advice for casual hiking and bicycling use

gggoodgggirl 0 Points
edited November -1 in GPS Recommendations
I want to purchase a handheld GPS as a gift for my husband's 50th birthday. I have no experience with GPS technology and am feeling a little lost. I have been trying to read up on and compare the various units that seem to be popular, but I never seem to find the exact answers to my questions. Hoping to get some assistance here!

My husband is a CASUAL hiker and bicycle rider. His typical excursions range from 4-8 hours but rarely longer than that (exception was a 3-day hike to the bottom of the Grand Canyon). He does a bit of mountain climbing, trail hiking, and explores the city, parks, and bike trails on his bicycle. He hinted to me that he may be interested in an inexpensive GPS unit just so he can figure out where he is or wants to go when he is out there.

I know that he will not be comfortable with any elaborate or complicated features.

He wears reading glasses, so I think a larger screen will be helpful.

I am not sure he is interested in training features, but he might use them if they were present.

So far I have looked at the Magellan Explorist series (310, 510, 610) and the Garmin Oregon series (450 or 450t). I am open to other units as well, I just don't know what is recommended. I was initially looking to spend $200 - $250 but am flexible if I could find the right combination of features.

How critical is the difference between the 1:24 (magellan) and the 1:100 (garmin) topo maps? Will that matter for my husband's intended use?

Can any of these units upload a report of his retraced activity so he can analyze his excursions after he is home? (he loves to do that)

Do any of these units have the ability to send activity back to the home computer in real time (like a SPOT tracker)?