This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

1450LMT changing route

I've been using the 1450 for 2 years or so, I typically plan a route in Mapsource then send it to the 1450. We're driving a motorhome and often prefer to stay on interstates even tho that may not be the shortest or fastest route. That's why I plan it in Mapsource to I can set the route the way I want it regardless of whether the gps likes it or not.

This has worked well.....until yesterday. I planned a route in Mapsource from Superior to La Crosse, WI that would keep us totally on 4 lane and/or interstate and sent it to the 1450.

When we navigated the route, it added a via point I didn't program and routed us on backroads that were definitely the shortest distance but NOT what I sent to the unit.

I've checked and re-checked settings on the 1450 and in Mapsource and can't find any reason for the unit to change the route I sent it.

What's the point of planning a route in the computer if it gets changed in the device.

Anybody have an idea why this happened and how to prevent it?

Comments

• sussamb 813 Points
    Your GPS will always recalculate an imported route based on the map it's using and its own routing and avoidance settings. Guess in the past you've just been lucky :)

I too plan routes on my PC and import them to my 1490, although I now use Basecamp. More often than not they match, but I always check one against the other before I set out just to be sure :wink:
  • Your GPS will always recalculate an imported route based on the map it's using and its own routing and avoidance settings. Guess in the past you've just been lucky :)
    Good point on avoidances.