This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Second gps for sailing plus. Building a system.

Northoceanbeach 0 Points
edited November -1 in GPS Recommendations
Hi all. I am pretty new to the world of GPS receivers. I've got to say though, they are fun!

My first was a garmin edge 800 for cycling. I didn't know what to expect. I expected world maps built in but quickly learned you pay for maps. Anyways. I'm not a really tech savvy guy, I'm just learning. I have some apple products and I expected the garmin to look like google maps on the iphone right out of the box. So I was pretty disappointed that for $650 I got something that looked like 1990's technology. I returned it.

Last summer I took a six month sailing trip to Canada and used a combo of paper maps an a garmin etrex 20 with 100k topo. That was ok.

Next summer I'm sailing longer and farther and am looking to upgrade my system. I was thinking an ipad mini with mini sd cards with downloaded nautical charts for trip planning and then a handheld for sailing that can use the charts either by plugging into the ipad or putting the sd card into it. I'm making this up as I go. I don't really know what is and isn't possible.

Does this sound like it would work? I didn't know last summer but you can get charts for free. I thought you had to buy the expensive garmin cards for each location.

What handheld would work best for me? I'll pay what I have to if its worth it. Here's what I want:

Clear screen. Not the outdated graphics.
Decent size screen
But...would like it to be portable and fit in a pocket.
Intuitive interface
Fast processing
Good map selection
Rugged for getting banged around and wet
Good compass
Versatile, so I can take it biking or driving or hiking sometimes too.