This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Track Filtering in Basecamp seems to delete points

I am a newbie with a Montana 600t. I went on a hike today and saved my track. I connected the montana to my PC and launched basecamp. I was able to see my track. Unfortunately, I forgot to save the track after my hike so I also got details of part of my drive home on the Track as well.

I would like to delete the points in the track that weren't part of my hike. I thought the "filter" might be a good start at that from within basecamp but it appears to be a "destructive" filter as I can't find a way to restore the points.

1) How can I "remove" the filter so I can get back to seeing all points?
2) what is the best way to "edit" the track so I can remove the portion that included my drive?

Thanks

Comments

• sussamb 798 Points
    I'm not sure which 'filter' you're referring to?

If you download the track again though just use the 'divide' tool to split the track where you need to.
  • Thank you for the suggestion of the divide command.

Regarding the "filter"...When you double click on a track, it bring up the details of each track point. (In my case about 900 track points). At the bottom of that page is a 'filter" button. I specified 100, thinking I wanted to filter all track points that were higher than 100 in a attempt to remove "my drive" part of the track. What it did was keep my track the same but just removed resolution (number of track points) That is the filter I used and for whatever reason, I am not able to get my original track points back, even when I try to change the filter to more points.

Thanks
  • privet01 215 Points
    I don't use basecamp enough to say for sure, but the original track may still be on your device. I think the one you altered only exists in basecamp, unless you sent it back to the device.