This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

total novice on handheld GPS - river floating questions

The main use I would have for a handheld GPS such as Garmin GPSMap 62S or Garmin ETrex20 would be for use on a Kayak river float. I would like to have a map of the river or creek including access points. I would like it to be able to take me to the access points, although I do have a Garmin nuvi that can give me road directions. I would then like to be able to put in start and stop points for the trip and be able to know where I am on the route. I want to know when I am close to the take-out point in order to look for that particular point without floating past it.

Can these Garmin devices do that and can I find maps and info that I need?

Garmin has a US trail maps whitewater edition for $20 or $25. Has anybody used it and does it do what I want to do?

Also, is there a place to be instructed on this?

Comments

• Boyd 1980 Points
    edited April 2014
    Either of those devices should do what you want, just be aware that while they have a waterproof rating (IIRC it is good for 1 hour under 1 meter of water), they will not float. If you want a device that floats, look at the GPSMap78, I think it's basically a 62 that floats.

Only you can decide whether a particular map does what you need. Take a look at http://www.gpsfiledepot.com/maps/ for starters, most of the maps there are free and will include the standard USGS hydrology data.

You could create your own routes in Garmin's free basecamp program using these maps - see the tutorials at gpsfiledepot. This would be a good start and you don't even need to purchase the gps to do that.

You could also use Garmin Birdseye satellite imagery once you get the GPS - $30 for unlimited downloads.