This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

GPS Rec for Hunting land - mapping trails and measuring area of food plots

I am very new to GPS use. My main needs out of a unit are as follows:
- Calculating the acreage in a food plot so I can apply the right amount of lime, fertilizer, etc
- Marking food plots on the larger map that I can eventually have printed (like from a MyTopo type service)
- Marking trails, roads, deer stands, property lines and other things that will print out on the satellite aerial image that I print or that I can have on a PDF copy of the map to distribute to the hunters and hikers of the property.

I need to be able to mark these things from the field. I realize some of this could be accomplished from an app that marks up a satellite image, but satellite images are not always as fresh as the changes we have made to the property - especially as it relates to clearing fields.

Any advice on what sort of unit to buy would certainly be appreciated. Trying to keep the price under a $1000 if I can.

Comments

• privet01 221 Points
    edited July 2014
    1000 dollars is pretty generous if you are only looking for a recreational GPS. I don't use handhelds regularly anymore. In fact my only handheld is an old gpsMap76csx, Circa 2006, that stays in my seabag as a backup to the marine gps's when sailing.

I'm not sure you'll find a recreational GPS that does the area calculations, but I may quite be wrong on that. For certain you can do that easily with mapping programs you will be using too or online tools you upload your tracks to.

The accuracy of $1000 and cheaper gps's is not what TV and salesman lead us to believe, but for what you want, they should be accurate enough as long as you and users of your information know that it's not accurate enough to dispute boundaries with neighboring property owners.