This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

New to Tyre

I hope this is the right discussion area for my question.

I just started playing around with Tyre. I was able to create my first route in moments...That's nice.
But, although I can find my saved route again in the "recent" menu, I can't seem to find where it is stored on my computer.
When I select the "open file" icon, It opens a window with one lone folder "POI", which is empty.
Doing a search, the saved file is located in C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Roaming\Tyre, and although the file obviously exists there, I can't any AppData folder or info in the Users\Owners file.

Any idea what's up here?

Comments

• dhn 328 Points
    What model device do you have?
  • menhir 50 Points
    I don't have a TomTom....I have a Garmin Nuvi 550. The Tyre program is only on my computer.
    Actually, I've found a reasonable work-around...
    I bring up the properties of route in question to find it's location, copy the route, and then paste it into the window with that lone "POI" folder. It seems to work. Eventually, I'll find out where I can specify where my routes are stored. Like I said, I'm very new to Tyre.

OK, so why am I trying Tyre when I don't have a TomTom? I've found it recommended on numerous riding forums as an alternative to BaseCamp. It certainly is, for my purposes, a whole lot more intuitive, too. I have MapSource, but I know it's no longer supported and it's useability may go away in the future. I spent hours and hours in learning BaseCamp, but it's just plain horrible.

So I figured I'd give Tyre a try. It's still being supported, too.

In any case, Garmin stopped making the Nuvi 550 and doesn't seem interested in making anything else to replace it. Therefore, it looks like my next GPS may be a TomTom anyway. :-)
  • dhn 328 Points
    A short history of itineraries and TomTom...........