This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

(Which) External antenna for Garmin GPSmap 64s?

Hi,

I'm new to the mapping scene and next week I am headed to France for some field work. A friend of mine is giving me his Garmin device (GPSmap 64s) and I am wondering how I can improve the accuracy of my measurements.

The setting will be a light forest, with a lot of open space and a few boulders ranging from 1-5m height. Here are my questions:

- Would you recommend buying an external antenna for the mapping?
- Will the increase in accuracy be likely worth the investment (if seen antennas as expensive as the GPS device itself)?
- If so, which one would you suggest (I am looking for a good price/value not high-end performance)?

Thank you for your help! I am really excited about this and hope to hear from you.
George

Comments

• Tim 1457 Points
    What accuracy are you expecting (or needing) to achieve?
  • g_org 0 Points
    Well, that's hard to answer. I lack experience in this matter, but I hope for the accuracy this device is capable of in near perfect terrain (little to no reflections & plenty satellites in sight).
    I need it to be within 5m (less would be better... but really, consistency is more of a concern), but again, this is a test run, so it is perfectly fine for me to tinker with this.
  • Boyd 1749 Points
    I would be very surprised if an external antenna makes a difference. In the consumer world, antennas are typically only used when the device is inside a vehicle that has obstructions. The 60 series (GPSMap 60/62/64) has a quad helix antenna that many people feel is the best in the business already.