This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

New to GPS

Hi, I am new to handheld GPS systems and need some advice on which GPS to get. My main reasoning for getting a handheld GPS is due to the fact that I am currently training my dog to track wounded deer. I am laying down mock tracks for him, as well as going on active tracks and need an easy way to calculate the distance for while on the tracks while out in the woods and not needing to be dependent on a smart phone. Are most handheld units able to mark a starting point and when you get to desired location, be able to read out the distance traveled between both points? I read somewhere that the older Garmin etrex legend's had a "measure distance" feature...is that still common with newer models? Any help would be appreciated. -Ranger1212

Comments

• DaveM 159 Points
    With a Garmin GPS if you reset the track log at the start it will then give you a readout of how far you have traveled. However there is a bug so the mileage is normally wrong. A lot of times it will be a small error but sometimes it will be big. It may read high or low. If besides resetting the track log at the start you save it at the end then when you get home you can load it in BaseCamp. In BaseCamp delete 1 point and it will recalculate the mileage and it should then be correct. Garmin has a case open so I hope they fix this someday.
  • sussamb 813 Points
    You can though on Garmin handhelds simply have a data field showing trip mileage. That's always proved accurate for me.
  • DaveM 159 Points
    I think that depends on how fast you are moving and how new the software is.