This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Recommendation for GPS+Glonass Android smartphone?

Hello

I generally like the Galaxy Nexus I've been using for a couple of years, but its satnav is useless when no data connection is available: Even while riding a bike, ie. when being in a wide open area for hours, it's still unable to locate me while it generally works well when a data connection is available.

So I'm thinking of getting a similar smartphone in terms of screen size (4.5-5") and price range (up to €350/$380) but that would support both GPS and Glonass. I just use my phone for satnav and reading web pages, and have no use for other features.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_smartphones_supporting_GLONASS_navigation#LG

I'm leaning toward getting a Nexus 5 before production ceases in a few weeks. Any recommendation much appreciated.

Thank you.

Comments

• privet01 221 Points
    edited January 2015
    What's the purpose or intended use of the gps data? If you are wanting to record activity data and track for cycling and other activities and you know you will be away from cell service a lot, then I'd consider a dedicated gps/glonass cyclometer or runners watch. However I'll admit a smartphone probably is more accurate for position in cities and other places in cell service range where gps/glonass alone will have poorer signals.

A smart phone, IMO, even if it can adequately find your position when out of cell range will be draining it's battery. I'd rather save my limited smartphone battery for data and talk.
  • I rarely record my tracks, and simply use GPS to be located on top of offline-maps in the phone.

As for juice, I always have an external battery so I can let the GPS application run all day.

I also have a Garmin Etrex 20, but it doesn't look like it can be used as an external GPS device.