This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Storage Management on a GPSMAP 64s

Folks.....I've been using my 64S for 6 months now and have lots of tracks stored on it. I want to start a logical process for cleaning off my unit, but not wanting to lose any of my tracks. I also have several map sets on the unit, some from Garmin and some OpenSource maps.

Is there a good document that covers this subject?

OK, so now the questions:

1. Can the map files (Garmin or other) be moved to the SD card and will they still be viewable on my GPSMAP 64S or do they have to be in "internal storage"? Are there any issues around moving maps back and forth from the SC card or my PC hard drive? And, what is the impact on Basecamp when I connect next time?

2. Can I move inactive tracks to the SD card and will they still be viewable on my unit?

3. What is the difference between moving items to the SD card and "archiving" items?

4. How do I tell how much more space in available for new Garmin map files, for example Alaska and/or Germany?

Thanks for your time.....RDK

Comments

• Boyd 1985 Points
    I don't have a 64, but if it is like the other units I have, you should be able to move things to an SD card. Simply duplicate the folder heirarchy on the card and store the files in the same place.

There might be issues if you have a LOT of tracks. There is another thread somewhere but I can't find it. A user had over 200 tracks on his device and some of them would not show. I think there may be some limits as to the number of files that the GPS can handle, but can't find any specific reference on this topic.

Before changing anything, I suggest that you do a full backup of your GPS however. Just copy all the files to a folder on your computer. Then you can restore things to their original condition if you run into a problem.