This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Is There A GPS Unit That Does THIS?

I am a mobile service technician and make up to 15 stops in a day, usually around 5 or 6. I used to use MS Streets & Trips to plan my route for a day, and also for planning my week (ie, will I go to Orange County and LA on Tuesday and San Diego on Wednesday, or LA on Tuesday and Orange County and San Diego on Wednesday). Since S&T is no more, I'm looking for an alternate device/program/app/service.

The features I require are...
1.I need to be able to enter a start time for a route (this isn't important when I'm actually driving but it's crucial for maximizing efficiency when PLANNING my route)
2.I need to be able to assign a duration to each stop.
3.I need to be able to enter multiple stops before I begin driving.
4.Being able to save routes for reference later would be wonderful.
5.Live traffic information would be a dramatic plus, but means nothing without items 1-3.
6.Good POI's would be nice too, but same thing - they mean nothing without 1-3.

Price is no object.

One more thing. At this point, I've considered "Onterra Systems Route Savvy" (MS's recommendation for S&T users) and would be fine spending the money they want, but using a program that requires being online the whole time is a major problem as I travel to some areas where cell service is not an option regardless of carrier, and I just don't see myself getting a data plan from a satellite phone carrier.

Lastly, my business depends on me figuring this out, so any suggestions would be VERY MUCH appreciated.

Comments

• t923347 432 Points
    edited August 2015
    Well S&T will continue to work for you, at least until the maps get so out of date that it becomes a problem.