This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Using North American Garmin in overseas

Hi All

I'm new to gps world after depending on my phone for many years, finally I have decided to get me one.

I'm planning to buy nuvi 2789 lmt with north America preloaded, since I'm planning to use it in Canada. However currently I'm working and living in Dubai-UAE (Middle east) is it possible to get above device from the States and add to it Middle east maps along with its Traffic functionality ?

The reason I want to buy it from US and use it in Dubai, is that first of all it cheaper in US $ 330 vs $ 500 in Dubai.. secondly middle east devices are pre loaded with obviously free for life middle east maps which I will not require once I m back to Canada.

Additionally, will there be any challenges charging/powering the device if I buy it from the States and use it overseas ?

Appreciate your support

Comments

• Boyd 1985 Points
    Sorry, I am not familiar with the geography of the Middle East, but this is Garmin's product. You could purchase it separately and add it to the 2789. They list the UAE but not Dubai in the coverage details.

https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/maps/on-the-road-maps/city-navigator-nt/city-navigator-middle-east-northern-africa-nt/prod73267.html

I don't know if there is any traffic coverage in the Middle East at all. The standard traffic receivers use data that piggy backs on over-the-air FM radio broadcasts. Some of the high end models have a similar system that uses HD radio. I don't believe any of these are compatible with the system used in the EU, you would need a separate receciver for there. Just don't know about the Middle East though.