This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

help with choosing a multiple location portable gps

miamistu 0 Points
edited November -1 in GPS Recommendations
I was at Sharper Image talking with a sales person about the Magellan Prestige 6000T and the TomTom 510. I came home and started to do some research and am overwhelmed with the choices and technical stuff.

Basically, I do a lot of driving for work and I need a portable GPS system that allows me to enter multiple locations and plan a route. If it does traffic updates and reroutes that would be great.

I am not tech savvy... in fact, my daughter is typing this post for me. If there are too many functions on the machine and the type on the screen requires binnoculars, I will just get aggravated and want to throw it out the window.

Is there a good GPS system that allows me to enter multiple locations and give traffic updates? I don't need to play an iPod. I don't need to look at photos of my grandkids while I am driving. Bluetooth is alright but I already have a StarTrek earset.

I was reading about the Garmin, TomTom and I can't even remember the others ones on CNET.

Thank you for any help.

Comments

• Tim 1480 Points
    There are a few considerations to look at. The first would be what exactly you mean/need by "multiple locations and plan a route". For example most of the Garmin devices (Magellan and TomTom too) allow you to enter "favorites". You could then navigate to each of your destinations one at a time.

TomTom and Magellan expand on that a little bit by offering to create one route that encompasses more than one "via" or destination into one route.

Magellan takes this even further and will allow you to enter a few destinations and then the device itself will figure out the most efficient order to visit each of them.