This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Restoring previous waypoints and tracks

Hi: I'm new to the GPS world so I hope this isn't a "dumb" question. Here it goes:
When I go for a hike with my etrek20x I record waypoints and tracks. When I get home I connect my handheld unit to the computer and the hike's data is uploaded to my copy of Basecamp. When I'm getting ready for my next hike I archive the current track and delete the current waypoints and create a backup to Basecamp. Later, after other hikes, I decide I'd like to go on the original hike again which means I'd like to download the waypoints and track from my earlier hike. So far I've been unable to find a way to download previous waypoints

Thanks for any suggestions.

Argus

Comments

• sussamb 664 Points
    If they're in BaseCamp you can just drag/drop them from there into your Etrex. Or right click them, select Send to and then select your Etrex.
  • Thanks for the answer.

When I connect to BaseCamp I see the data from the handheld unit load to the PC. I do the backup, delete the data from the handheld unit but when I do a restore, I no longer see the data I uploaded from the handheld, i.e., the most recent hike. So I guess my question should have been how to backup and restore correctly. Thanks again.
  • sussamb 664 Points
    edited October 2016
    Well that doesn't sound like you've loaded it into BaseCamp. BC will show the contents of your device but to get it into the BC data so its saved and shows without the device connected you need to drag/drop it from your device into My Collection in BC. You can check you've done it correctly by disconnecting your device; the data should still show in BC. Once you're happy it's there you can then delete it off your Etrex.