This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Information on Birds Eye and SD Card

I'm a noob and new owner of a 755t. I see that I'm entitled to one year of Birds Eye at no charge. Is this already loaded? If not where would I download it? I also inserted a 128 g SD card and the unit didn't recognize it. I'm going to be doing a hunt in Northern Colorado this fall and would like to get the most detailed maps available of the area. Thanks, Steve

Comments

• t923347 406 Points
    Assuming your referring to the Rino 755T hand held GPS, as far as I know Garmin units will only support an SD card of up to 64GB.
  • scarr25 0 Points
    Yes, the Rino 755t. Thank you very much!!
  • alanb 375 Points
    edited August 17
    Since this is the Garmin handheld forum, by 755T, I assume you are referring to a Garmin Rino and not a nuvi. ;)

The answer to your question is no, the birds eye images are not already loaded. You install birds eye images via Garmin's Basecamp program. The birds eye images take quite a lot of time to download, and each file is for a fairly limited area (100 sq. miiles or so), so you will want to carefully select the regions you want. You can have multiple birds eye files enabled at the same time. My experience is with the birds eye satellite images, so it may be different for the birds eye topo.

For the SD card issue, you need to format the card as FAT32. I am not familiar with the rino spec's, but you may need a smaller card (32 GB should be OK, but 64 or 128 may work if formatted as FAT32)
  • scarr25 0 Points
    Thank you Alan!!
  • Boyd 1794 Points
    edited August 17
    This is an old thread, but my numbers should give you some idea of how much coverage you can fit on a card.

http://forums.gpsreview.net/discussion/comment/126239/#Comment_126239