This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Distance hiked .......... in feet, yards, etc.

Hello,

Newbie here.

Other than a Garmin hanging on the windshield of my vehicle for the past four or five years, I am totally new to the GPS world. Also, I do not own a smart phone as we have zero cell service at our home location (do have a cheap Trac Phone).

So, my wife and I do a lot of hiking on public trails. We are interested in "distance hiked" with zero interest in anything else that might be offered with any GPS device.

Question (which seems the answer is elusive): do GPS units show distance walked/hiked as we are hiking [on the spot]? If so, what is the increment(s)? Is such a feature available on all models?

Thanks

Comments

• sussamb 671 Points
    edited December 7
    Basically yes. As for increments it depends, but most after a mile increment in 100ths of a mile.

Equally there are phone apps that do the same. Note smart phones don't need a cell signal to do so as they work off GPS satellites, although I note you don't have one anyway.
  • Boyd 1795 Points
    There are a variety of reasons why the "distanced hiked" number can be inaccurate. This has been the subject of many discussions here and elsewhere. If you're serious when you say that's the ONLY feature you want, you might look at pedometers instead of GPS. I see a bunch of different ones in the $5 to $20 price range at WalMart (for example).
  • AndyBees 0 Points
    Yep, in my searches I come to the conclusion that the distance hiked is not always correct, such as going and back down a mountain.