This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Need help with selecting the right handheld gps

I am a balloon pilot, and am looking for a backup handheld GPS to use during flight.

I think my requirements are very basic, but I have a hard time finding one that meets all of them. Especially the heading in degrees seems to be a problem. I am fine with older models, as long as they work.

I need the following info visible all the time:
- barometric altimeter
- heading in degrees (actual numbers)
- ground speed

Nice, but not necessary:
-real time VSI (rate of climb/descent)

If possible with rechargeable battery (battery life 1-3 hrs.)

I’ve looked at the following models:
Etrex 30/30x. Not sure about heading in degrees
Dakota 20: Not sure about heading in degrees
Oregon 450 and newer models: also questions about heading and baro alt.
Montana 600 and newer. Seems to have everything, but is kind of an overkill.

Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated.
William

Comments

• sussamb 792 Points
    edited January 21
    On the Etrex models you can select data fields that give heading and glide ratio, so they should cover your needs.

Same with the Montana but I have no experience of the other models.
  • I've looked at the etrex models (30x) but could not find an example of the heading in degrees. I don't remember which model, but one of them only indicated N, E, S,W. Do you know if the etrex 30x gives heading in actual numbers?

We 'steer' by moving between different winds aloft. Going up or down 50 ft. or so can make a difference of several degrees. The altitude on the same screen mounted at eye height would be ideal. Right now I use a tablet with a flight recorder, which is not in my line of sight.
  • sussamb 792 Points