This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Newbie having a tough time deciding...

rorygentry 0 Points
edited November -1 in GPS Recommendations
Another newbie here, who has never owned (or used) a GPS unit before, so I’m pretty clueless as to what features I should be looking for. I've been doing some research online, but it's tough to decide what is the best fit when you've never used one before.

I would mainly like a unit that I can program to use in the USA when I take roads trips, BUT, I also need to be able to program it for use in Scotland. (I will be hiking around Scotland on an upcoming trip.) I would like to be able to program about 20 locations in it, so that I can use it while hiking from castle to castle in Scotland. (I will also need 2 chargers- one for the USA, and one for the UK.) The Scotland trip will probably be my first real use of the item, and it is mainly going to be used as a "safety net" since I'll be hiking everywhere. (I'll be hiking through cities/ towns, so seeing roads is much more inportant than "topo" stuff.)

I won’t use this item very often, so I don’t need the top of the line, but I do want something reliable and easy to use. Can anyone make a recommendation for a hand-held unit that would be capable of my needs?

I looked at the Nuvi 370 (WAY too expensive) and the TomTom 910 (not as expensive, but still a bit pricey). I do like the "pedestrian" option I heard about on the TomTom, but I don't see it mentioned specifically on their website.

Comments

• Tim 1480 Points
    Hi rorygentry,

Are you looking for a handheld GPS, or a portable (auto) GPS? Perhaps you don't know yet, and that is okay. A handheld GPS is traditionally used for outdoor activities such as hiking. You can put maps on them (typically topo maps). They are typically waterproof and rugged enough to stand up to outdoor use.