This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Blackberry's GPS Capability

Randy Carson 0 Points
edited November -1 in Smartphone Navigation
My Question
Is Blackberry's GPS capability any good or do I need a separate GPS?

I've decided to buy a Blackberry for a whole host of reasons. However, I'm curious to know whether the Blackberry GPS capability is worth the $9.99 per month or whether I should buy a separate GPS from TomTom, Garmin or Magellan, etc. Since I know next to nothing about either Blackberry or GPS systems, I'm asking myself (and you) whether one unit will serve both functions.

My Application
I am a REALTOR, and having a GPS would help when showing multiple properties. I want to be able to get to each house quickly and easily. Using a map works, but it's cumbersome and time-consuming. Using a GPS would be easier and look more professional. One concern: I visit NEW houses frequently, and some subdivisions and streets are so new, they aren't on the maps, yet. I'm guessing that a GPS database gets updated periodically, but I don't know how often this happens or what it costs to update. Help on this would be great.

My Requirements
One feature that might be cool is the ability to enter a whole bunch of addresses the night before I go out to show the properties...then I could just cruise from property to property without having to stop to program the next address. Even cooler than that would be the ability to optimize the ORDER in which we see the houses. That might be too much to hope for, however! 8)

I'd also like the GPS to speak the directions ("Turn left in one half mile", etc.) as I'm driving.

My Service Provider