This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

4050 Concerns

daniel8802 0 Points
edited November -1 in Magellan Vehicle Forum
Hey Everyone ... I'm new to the whole GPS world, but after searching around, I found what should and should not be in a GPS unit.

I found that the 4050 had almost everything that should be in the unit and found a really amazing price for it $288 US.

My only concern is that I've read mixed reviews about it. It hasn't come yet, just ordered it last night.

Can anyone shed any light on this unit? I plan on using it traveling to dark spots on far away routes in my state for astronomy observing.

If you have any thoughts, that would be great. Thanks!

Comments

• If it has all of the features that you want and at a price that you like, there's nothing to be said. I have a 3100 and it works fine. Magellan support is probably the worst of the major players but as long as the unit functions properly I think that you will be quite happy. If it does not, return it immediately for a replacement, before you have to deal with support. Good luck and let us know how you like it.
  • Thanks for the response. I live in New Jersey too. The first place I will be trying it on is back roads on Route 72 trying to head out to Coyle Field. Do you think there will be lost connections?
  • You should be able to pick up 7 or more satellites every where except in urban canyons and tunnels. Signal should be no problem in normal residential or suburban areas.
  • Sounds good. I'm really anxious to get my unit. First thing I am going to do is update my firmware. This would be my first GPS so it's a new gadget for me! haha. I'm just keeping my fingers crossed that it will work out for me in the middle of the pine barrens! I should know this coming Friday when I go out and observe.