This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Stolen GPS Units

shelbysheriff 0 Points
edited November -1 in GPS Discussions
I work for the Shelby County Sheriff's Office in Memphis, Tn.

And for the record, I have very little knowledge of GPS units.

Long story short, we have an enormous amount of GPS units (mainly Garmin, Magellan, & TomTom) being stolen and/or pawned in the Memphis area and the tri-state area.

Our problem lies when people either a) don't report the unit as being stolen in thought that they believe it will not be found or make a difference or b) the serial number provided by the owner of the device is not accurate or they have not registered the unit to the manufacturer, so it is almost impossible to locate the owner.... the information provided by the pawn shops are inaccurate, if it is listed at all.

I've got a couple "newb" questions:

1. Is there a website in to report stolen units? If you did have one stolen, did you report it to a law enforcement agency or to the manufacturer or both?

2. Are there any identifiers, other than model/serial, that would pinpoint the owner?

Thanks in Advance.

Comments

• infama 0 Points
    I work for the Shelby County Sheriff's Office in Memphis, Tn.

And for the record, I have very little knowledge of GPS units.

Long story short, we have an enormous amount of GPS units (mainly Garmin, Magellan, & TomTom) being stolen and/or pawned in the Memphis area and the tri-state area.

Our problem lies when people either a) don't report the unit as being stolen in thought that they believe it will not be found or make a difference or b) the serial number provided by the owner of the device is not accurate or they have not registered the unit to the manufacturer, so it is almost impossible to locate the owner.... the information provided by the pawn shops are inaccurate, if it is listed at all.