This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

4250 accuracy?

shniggies 0 Points
edited November -1 in Magellan Vehicle Forum
So I'm new to the whole GPS world, and I recently bought a 4250 even though I read some pretty negative things about it.... I took the unit up to Seattle with me over the weekend, and it did some interesting things....

***disclaimer: i had the unit for only a few days, so I didn't play around with EVERYTHING, just wanted it for basic routing/directions for now ****

1. I was south of Seattle, and when I entered an address near Seattle, it wanted me to take 5 South... to me this doesn't seem logical in the slightest way, considering I needed to go north, and it wasn't even routing me to another freeway off the 5 South, because I could see the green route coming back going north..... confused I went 5 North and it rerouted me correctly, but just thinking about what would happen if I had no bearing to where I actually was, and the amount of time and gas i would've just spent....

2. so this is the actual reason for my post... when I look at the map, I am always slightly behind on the GPS, is this normal? If I am sitting at an intersection, the arrow indicating my current location will be 1/4 inch behind it...is this normal? It throws me off a little, but i guess i can get used to it, but i found it weird...

3. in certain menus, the back button does not respond, i dont know if its because i ran the calibration test, but when i enter a route and then press the directional arrow in the bottom left corner to view the directions in text, the back button does not respond for a good 10-15 seconds... it eventually does go back, but is an annoyance...

Comments

• patruns 10 Points
    I have a 3100 and experience both #2 & #3 quite often. I doubt this is model specific.
  • nevets 0 Points