This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Magellan 1412 - My quick review

sportster64 0 Points
edited November -1 in Magellan Vehicle Forum
Just got the M1412 RM from Costco. First off I'm new to car GPS's. I also have the tomtom one 130. The 1412 the first thing I noticed was that I could not change the default arrow icon to comething different/smaller. The car was at a physical road BEFORE the map arrow was showing it at the road which is telling me that the processor is either slower or bogged down compared to my tt130. The 1412 also could not display my speed when navigating/routing which I found annoying. You can display the spped but not when in navigation mode. The interface was easy to learn and quite simple. One thing the 1412 has over the tt130 that I liked was that it has a built in altimeter to display altitude. If only I could put those items on the navigation screen.

Comments

• cz9h3d 0 Points
    Playing around with the 1412 at Costco, I notice that it has larger directional arrows on the roadway to indicate direction compared to my 3225 (i.e. continue straight or turn - I believe they were large yellow arrows versus the smaller blue ones on the 3225). I didn't notice any other differences (I've upgraded my 3225 to the 6M POI's). I'll probably pick one up and compare the two to determine if I prefer the larger screen or more compact size.

In regards to showing speed - Yea, the TomTom's have a lot of data that can be shown on the map screen, I'm just not sure why I'd want to see my vehicle speed on the map versus on my vehicle speedometer!
  • The reason to see your speed via a GPS device - easy - most car analog odometers are usually off 2-3 mph depending on your speed. GPS speeds are often closer in calibration to actual radar speeds, which means I would rather know the gps speed versus what my car says I'm moving.