This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Difference between maestro and roadmate?

vaterp 0 Points
edited November -1 in Magellan Vehicle Forum
Hi all,

I'm new to the game and just about to pick one of these up from costco. I'm a little confused though between the differences.

I'm looking at the 3225 for $150 or the roadmate 1412 or 1430.

I see the screen is bigger on the roadmates, but are there any other differnces? I cant find any spec/feature sheets anywhere.

Also, is the only difference between the 1412 and the 1430 that the 1430 has traffic capabilities?

Thanks for the advice!
-brian

Comments

• patruns 10 Points
    Both series have large screens available depending on model. The Roadmate series is a little bit of a crossover series as there are topo maps available for some. The Maestro series has more bells and whistles as you get into the higher numbers. Many have Bluetooth and TTS capabilities which is scarce in the Roadmate series.
  • vaterp 0 Points
    Since i'm interested in the lower model numbers, is there any standout features between the two (besides screen size?)

I dont need or care about bluetooth, mp3, etc...

Thanks -brian
  • patruns 10 Points
    The 2 Roadmates have a bigger screen, text to speech and 6 million POIs. The Maestro does not have TTS and only 1.3million POIs. The 2 series also use different chipsets and the Roadmate accesses 30 channels and the Maestro 20 channels. Roadmate uses Atlas III chipset and Maestro uses SiRF III. I cannot tell you what the difference is as far as performace is concerned.
  • vaterp 0 Points
    Thanks thats a good feature diff for me! I'm surprised how hard it is to get a feature comparision from the manufacter. I think the roadmate is definitly more my speed then.... any other brands that have a good match against the roadmate in the 200$ range, that I should consider?