This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more about how to manage cookies, or dismiss this message and continue to use cookies.

Revert back to 8.01?

billtco 0 Points
edited November -1 in TomTom Car Forum
I made the mistake of switching from app. 8.01 to 8.03 without backing up my system. I don't like losing the next street from the bottom of the screen and the garbled streets.

Is there a way to re-load 8.01 on my 720 at this point?

Thanks

Comments

• Thanks for sending the website for the 8.01 app. Trouble is I'm not sure what file to load it into on my 720. I looked through all the files on my GPS unit and I didn't see a file for 8.3 app. Could you direct me to the appropriate location to download this to?

Thanks, and sorry for the dumb questions. I'm new to these gadgets.
  • dhn 329 Points
    You replace all the loose files in the root of your unit, NO folders or their contents, with the files in the 8.01 firmware .cab file.
  • When I removed all the "loose files" (those outside of the folders) then downloaded the files from the web site you gave me, I couldn't get the 720 to even start up. It was dead in the water. :(

I then deleted the file I had just entered and reinstalled the old files and got it to run ok -- but naturally I've still got 8.3

I must have done something wrong or removed too many files

Thanks anyway
  • dhn 329 Points
    Want to try again since you have a backup?

Use Home to move to REmove items from my unit and select the firmware. You'll get a warning but ignore it and proceed.

Now then, in the cab file are some files NOT associated with a folder. These are the ones when you view the contents of the cab that do not show a folder on the right side such as /asr or /helpme.

So, extract only the files with no folder association. Move these to the root of the unit. Perhaps do a pinset and see if things work now.
  • Thanks DHN for the reply.