Looking for auto-navigation GPS with custom routing.2455LMT?
  • manumaan
    I am looking for a GPS for my car with these features:

1. Speaks street names
    2. Lane Assist
    3. Junction View
    4. Custom Routes

Let me explain the 4th one. Eg: I want to travel on the Lariat Loop scenic byway. If i enter the via points normal GPS calculates the route for lowest distance/Fastest. But i want to go through the scenic way which may not be either of these.

I am planning to create the routes in BaseCamp and move it to the GPS and use them. I have not done this before, i think it can be done. I am looking for a GPS which supports this.

I could see that 2455 LMT has all the 3 features i listed, but i am not sure about the 4th one. The notes on garmin website are vague.

I have been using a Garmin GPS (255) for last 3 years so i am comfortable with Garmin, but if there are great options in other brands, i am open to them.

Please help?
  • LostAgain
    Check out the Nuvi 2450LM. It does what you want and has both a 5" screen and powered mount, neither of which the 2455LMT has. Also, be aware that Traffic and Junction View are often unavailable except when near large metro areas.

I have been using a Nuvi 750 for several years and have been very happy with it's ability to follow a route that was pre-planned in MS Streets and Trips (and/or Base Camp) and exported to the 750. That is mostly how I use a gps.

I just ordered the 2450LM for the larger screen and Lane Assist. I'm hoping it functions as well or better than the 750 for navigating and displaying map detail, menu functions, voice clarity, etc. That's the stuff you will never see in Garmin specs and must ferret out from professional or user reviews.

Another good choice might be the 14XX series, but you give up the powered mount and JV I think.
  • sussamb