leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright
GPS Forums HomeSearchMembers    Register 
 ProfileLog in to check your private messagesLog in 

Good Place to BUY a GPS From ?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    GPS Review Forums Forum Index -> GPS Recommendations
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dantheman



Joined: 28 Jun 2008
Posts: 91

PostGood Place to BUY a GPS From ?  Sat Jul 12, 2008 12:30 am    Reply to topic Reply with quote

I found 2 websites that have Great prices on GPS units 86photovideo.com & Techondigital.com anybody ordered from these 2 sites before if so was the GPS Factory Brand New in Retail Box like they say "NO Gray market units" I thinking about buy a Garmin 260W from 86photovideo they have it for only $179 best price i have found .
Back to top
View user's profile
Tim
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 17834
Location: 45.06°, -70.24°

Post  Sat Jul 12, 2008 12:34 am    Reply to topic Reply with quote

Store Ratings - Finding Reputable GPS Stores

I can't find the post (still looking for it) but people have had lots of issues with TechonDIGITAL.
Back to top
View user's profile
Tim
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 17834
Location: 45.06°, -70.24°

Post  Sat Jul 12, 2008 12:49 am    Reply to topic Reply with quote

Here are the two threads:

Need help Finding a GPS unit.
TomTom Go 930 for $399.00

And see comment #57 here:
scroll to comment 57
Back to top
View user's profile
dhn
+
+


Joined: 24 Sep 2007
Posts: 2981
Location: Toronto

PostRe: Good Place to BUY a GPS From ?  Sat Jul 12, 2008 1:28 am    Reply to topic Reply with quote

dantheman wrote:
I found 2 websites that have Great prices on GPS units 86photovideo.com & Techondigital.com anybody ordered from these 2 sites before if so was the GPS Factory Brand New in Retail Box like they say "NO Gray market units" I thinking about buy a Garmin 260W from 86photovideo they have it for only $179 best price i have found .


Was it this forum or some other where there was a thread just a couple of days ago about what scam artists 86 photovideo.com is?
Back to top
View user's profile
gatorguy
+
+


Joined: 15 Dec 2007
Posts: 5944
Location: Florida

Post  Sat Jul 12, 2008 1:40 am    Reply to topic Reply with quote

Another site. Pretty lengthy synopsis of dissatisfied customers. No way I'd consider them
Back to top
View user's profile
cz9h3d



Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 36
Location: Michigan

Post  Sat Jul 12, 2008 2:02 am    Reply to topic Reply with quote

Unless you are 100% sure of what you want, you might want to steer clear of the restocking sights. There's nothing like using a unit for a few days to really find out what you like or don't.

Obviously this limits your choices big time - to like Amazon, Costco.com....maybe that's it!
Back to top
View user's profile
dantheman



Joined: 28 Jun 2008
Posts: 91

Post  Sat Jul 12, 2008 2:50 am    Reply to topic Reply with quote

Thanks Guys Looks like Techondigital is a SCAM site Just checked My Local SAM'S Club & they have the Garmin 750 which is a much nicer unit then the 260W For Only $299 & i know Sam's Club is a Trusted Store to Buy From .
Back to top
View user's profile
HarleyMan



Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Location: Demopolis, AL

Post  Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:19 pm    Reply to topic Reply with quote

Tim wrote:
Store Ratings - Finding Reputable GPS Stores

I can't find the post (still looking for it) but people have had lots of issues with TechonDIGITAL.


Yep...I tried to order a Garmin Nuvi 760 from TechonDigital for $275. The website showed "in stock". I called to place the order & was asked by the salesman to purchase extras such as SD memory cards, carrying cases, extended warranties, etc. When I refused & told them all I wanted was the Nuvi 760 at the advertised price, I was told it would be a 6 week wait on the unit. I politely cancelled the order. Another website to steer clear of is: CameraAddict.com.
Back to top
View user's profile
Mark29



Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 366
Location: NJ

PostRe: Good Place to BUY a GPS From ?  Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:17 am    Reply to topic Reply with quote

dhn wrote:
dantheman wrote:
I found 2 websites that have Great prices on GPS units 86photovideo.com & Techondigital.com anybody ordered from these 2 sites before if so was the GPS Factory Brand New in Retail Box like they say "NO Gray market units" I thinking about buy a Garmin 260W from 86photovideo they have it for only $179 best price i have found .


Was it this forum or some other where there was a thread just a couple of days ago about what scam artists 86 photovideo.com is?


Yeah, I'd call 0.08 out of 10 pretty abysmal ratings:

http://www.resellerratings.com/store/86th_Street_Photo_Video

resellerratings.com is a pretty good site for finding the ripoff places. I got both of our units from Amazon, never had a problem.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile
Greeny



Joined: 26 Jun 2008
Posts: 29
Location: Ohio

Post  Mon Jul 14, 2008 8:15 pm    Reply to topic Reply with quote

Purchased my Tom Tom One XLS from QVC for $213 plus shipping and tax. Seems to be their price continuously. Received it in a week and worked right out of the box. Great deal in my eyes.
Back to top
View user's profile
Post new topic   Reply to topic    GPS Review Forums Forum Index -> GPS Recommendations All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
content bottomleft content bottomright