Ripoff website...........Beware. Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:24 pm
Hi Everyone,
I thought i would let you know of a scam website i came across while looking for another Tomtom.
The website has amazing prices for x20 x30 etc so about 4 weeks ago i ordered a 720 online. The price was only $205 + shipping. Yes they are advertised as new models before you ask.
Well after placing the order an email informed me i would need to verify the order by placing a call (800 no) to the verification dept. They checked my address etc then proceeded to try offer me an expensive 4gb SD card to go with the GPS as "it really needed it to get the best from the unit" i declined several times before they gave up.
My next email then informed me the order was on back order for 3-4 weeks as i had just missed the last unit between ordering and verification.
So i called them and cancelled which they promptly did and confirmed in an email.
So then last week i checked out their website and they are still advertising cheap units, so i go for a 920 as i know have a 720 and its brilliant. The 920 was $215 so i thought yeah i'm having one of those.
the same thing happened and i had to call and verify and yes i declined all the expensive extra's they offer. And then yes i received the back order message. So i thought what the hell i can wait 4 weeks for one, lets see what happens. Well they then sent an email cancelling my order, that's what happened!
I called to complain and the guy was really rude, wouldn't put me through to a supervisor. I told i didn't want to cancel and he told me they had to cancel as they were not selling tt920's anymore, but their website is still advertising them.
Now i'm guessing the scam is they get you to order the really cheap units and then pressure you into buying expensive add on's such as the SD card, which are not cheap. I'm guessing if you say yes, you probably end up with the card and then find the GPS out of stock and your order cancelled. End result they sell you an expensive add on.
Plus they also have your credit card details and CVV code, god knows what they could do with that.
The website is:
http://www.86photovideo.com
I really wish there was someway i could stop them, or report them, but who police's the internet and are they really doing anything illegal advertising stuff they have no intention on selling?
I would love any help or suggestions on how to stop them.
Joined: 07 Dec 2007 Posts: 101 Location: Rhode Island
Sat Aug 02, 2008 6:44 pm
I had the same problem ordering a camera. Broadway photo does the same thing. There are a few others also which escape me at the moment. If the price is too good to be true, it's usually a scam.
I had the same issue about 1 1/2 years ago wit a Cannon camera with 3 or 4 different sites and finally the one that I ended up buying from tried to sell me extra card, battery’s and extended warranty. When I refused all the extras he said the camera that was offered was an import from Japan and everything would be in Japanese language and there would be no warranty. I said fine I will take my chances he got mad and hung up the phone. I figured that would be the end and wouldn’t see anything but low and behold my credit card was charged the price that was advertised and when the camera arrived it was in English I registered with Cannon USA and all has been well except for the BS high pressure salesman.
This is the same scammer operating out of Brooklyn, NY under different names like 86photovideo.com, Broadwayphoto.com, Everyprice.com, ShopCartUSA.com, and a few other names I can't remember now.
I'm originally from the UK, been out here nearly 2 years now.
In the UK we have whats called an Advertising standards council, where i would have reported the website to if i were still there.
Is there not anything like that over here?
Clearly there is not. Many of these places have been around for years. One problem seems to be they frequently move locations and change the name of the business.
Clearly there is not. Many of these places have been around for years. One problem seems to be they frequently move locations and change the name of the business.[/quote]
Whooaa, whats with the clearly not comment.
I'm still new to this country, and was simply asking a question.
I would have loved to stop websites like this from conning innocent people.
I think you mistook the tone of Mark's reply. By 'clearly', I'm sure he was simply expressing a view or opinion that nothing exists like that in US or Canada and I suspect there may have also been some frustration felt by Mark that we don't have this same protection.
He certainly did NOT intend his comment as a shot at you, whatsoever.
I think you mistook the tone of Mark's reply. By 'clearly', I'm sure he was simply expressing a view or opinion that nothing exists like that in US or Canada and I suspect there may have also been some frustration felt by Mark that we don't have this same protection.
He certainly did NOT intend his comment as a shot at you, whatsoever.
I'm sure of that.
Thanks dhn, that's exactly how I meant it. I don't understand how it is these places continue, I guess there are too many people in the US thinking they can legitimately get something for unbelievable prices.
And the consumer protection laws we have -- both federally and provincially -- here in Canada are by and large much weaker than those that exist in the States.
I also went to 86video or whatever but cancelled when he tried to sell me the cards and warranties.
then also found broadwayphoto on a search.
placed an order for a TT720. I got an email the next day saying had to confirm my address. I began to worry.
As expected he tried to sell me a map update I told him it came with a free map update. He tried to tell me his did not. He tried a few more sales pitches until I got mad and told im I only wanted what I ordered.
He said fine It will be $ 259. plus 8 something for handling and hung up.
I worried but it arrived in two days and everything was good it was brand
new and in a sealed box.
It was a good deal but not worth the aggravation.
Sorry I went so long but needed to vent a little
So far love my TT720
Had trouble with vr but when I upgraded to new map it worked.
I also went to 86video or whatever but cancelled when he tried to sell me the cards and warranties.
then also found broadwayphoto on a search.
placed an order for a TT720. I got an email the next day saying had to confirm my address. I began to worry.
As expected he tried to sell me a map update I told him it came with a free map update. He tried to tell me his did not. He tried a few more sales pitches until I got mad and told im I only wanted what I ordered.
He said fine It will be $ 259. plus 8 something for handling and hung up.
I worried but it arrived in two days and everything was good it was brand
new and in a sealed box.
It was a good deal but not worth the aggravation.
You're very, very lucky:
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Broadway_Photo
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum